School Council


2019 Altona Primary School Council


School councils play a key role in Victorian government schools. A school council develops a vision for the school in collaboration with all members of the school community and is actively involved in the development of and endorses the school’s strategic plan.


School Council is the governing body of the school and draws on the school community for its members - parents, DEECD staff and the broader community. School Council determines appropriate policies within Department of Education and Early Childhood Development (DEECD) guidelines that will ensure that the aims of the school are achieved. In addition, Council controls the school’s monies and resources.


School Council operates under a framework provided by the:


  • Education and Training Reform Act 2006
  • Education and Training Regulations 2007
  • The School’s Constituting Order


Objectives, functions and powers of school councils


The Education and Training Reform Act 2006 defines the objectives, functions and powers of school councils.




A school council’s objectives are to:


  • assist in the efficient governance of the school
  • ensure that its decisions affecting students of the school are made having regard, as a primary consideration, to the best interests of the students
  • enhance the educational opportunities of the students of the school
  • ensure the school and the council comply with any requirements of this Act, the regulations, a Ministerial Order or a direction, guideline or policy issued under this Act.


School Council is made up of 13 members:


  • 8 elected non-DEECD parents
  • 4 DEECD employees, other than the Principal
  • the Principal
  • Up to one co-opted member from the school community (excluding DEECD employees) having a special interest in the school (community membership is optional and this position is co-opted rather than elected).


Altona Primary School's 2019 School Council members are:



Chelsea Hughes (President)

Sarah Brooker (Vice-President)

Carl Marchant (Minutes Secretary)

Lynda Giles Holmes
Clare Hammette-Cheesewright


DET (Department of Education) employees

Natalie Nelson (Principal)
Nicole Fridey (Acting Principal)
Debbie Galvin (Assistant Principal)
Andrew Gilpin

Any parents who wish to raise any items for discussion at a School Council meeting, please contact President Chelsea Hughes at

Elected members of the Altona Primary School Council have two-year terms of office with half retiring annually on 31st March each year. Co-opted members of Altona Primary School Council have two-year terms that also terminate on 31st March each year. Elections are conducted according to the Regulations 2007.





Previous Month August 2019 Next Month
     12 3
45 6 7 8910
1112 13 14 15 1617
18 19 20 21 222324
25 26 27 28 29 3031